Talaysay Tours – Talking Tree Tour


  • Business Name: Talaysay Tours
  • Owner Name: Candace Campo
  • Website: www.talaysay.com
  • # Of Staff Employed: 12 on contract
  • Types Of Experiences Offered: Hiking, walking, kayaking, snowshoeing
  • # Of Years In Business: 12
  • Target Markets: BC, Alberta, Ontario, some Europe

Located in Vancouver and on the Sunshine Coast, this well-established Indigenous-owned eco-tour company hopes to start providing a tourism experience that will appeal to cruise passengers and working with the cruise lines coming to Vancouver in 2015.

Talaysay Tours offers guided walking & hiking tours from a First Nations perspective, and has been successful in doing so for over 12 years. These tours explore the North Shore Mountains of Vancouver with Indigenous guides, as they share their unique knowledge of the cultural significance and natural beauty of this area.

 In the company’s quest to expand its current target markets, Talaysay Tours wishes to work with Vancouver’s cruise market by providing a Talking Tree walking tour in Stanley Park. The company has been discussing this option with a cruise specialist to find out what they need to consider when working with the cruise lines and how their current product needs to be adjusted.

Q & A between Candace Campo (Talaysay Tours) and Darryl Anderson (Wave Point Consulting Ltd.)

Q: What do I need to consider when I start adjusting my current Talking Tree Walking Tour for the Cruise Market?

A: I know your experiences are export-ready but for the cruise market, they also need to become ‘cruise-friendly’. We call it cruise export-ready. There are many components you will need to consider when you look at developing your Talking Tree walking tour for the cruise market. Here are a few important points:

I could see this tour potentially working for the multi-generational passengers. Families or small groups travelling together wanting looking to engage in an educational experience while in Vancouver prior to, or after their cruise. When you design the narrative and activities along the tour, keep in mind that this would be your main target (range of ages; e.g. 7 to 70 years old) within the cruise market. Including a hands-on activity will enhance the appeal and make it more distinctive and memorable than a self-guided walking tour.

A walking tour right from the cruise ship terminal may eliminate the need to partner up with a transportation company. Plan to walk to Stanley Park with an engaging and interesting narrative involving storytelling and pointing out important sites along the way. Make the walking trip to Stanley Park just as important as the activities that will occur in the park. Create a key photo moment on the trip to the park that tour members can share with one another and on social media.

Even though the walking tour will appeal to a certain demographic, making it an accessible tour for motorized wheelchairs will open up a wider market. Keep this in mind when you pick the route from the cruise ship terminal and back.

Q: How long should the tour last? 

A: Cruise passengers have limited time. They would either do this tour before getting on a cruise or right after. Therefore, I would suggest about 2 hours in total. This would mean ½ hour for getting to Stanley Park, one hour in the park and ½ hour back. You will need to plan for restroom stops and for a break mid-point.  

Q: What amenities should I include in the tour? 

A: Good question. As we know Vancouver can be wet at times, so you will need to provide rain gear; e.g. rain coats or umbrellas. Bottled water would also be a good idea. As well as include something the guests can take home (e.g. a piece of cedar, braided cedar bark) that becomes a highlight of their experience visiting Stanley Park.  

Q: Are there any logistical requirements? 

A: In addition to the export-ready standards, you will need to be able to ‘scale’ your experience as it relates to the minimum and maximum number of visitors. Figuring out how many participants you will need to run the tour and also how you could handle multiple tours from multiple cruise lines. Sometime there could be up to four cruise ships at the port at the same time.  

Q: What kind of marketing materials should I produce? 

A: Providing a unique and compelling description about the tour and what people will learn, as well as showcasing great images, is key. Consider both the content on your website and social media channels since many cruise passengers do extensive research about a destination at the time they book a cruise. For the tour itself, consider handing out maps that showcase the route and some of the tour’s highlights. 

Q: How can I market to the cruise industry?

A: The cruise lines look to see that shore excursion operators have a proven track record with a product that has consumer appeal. Perhaps try introducing the Talking Tree tour, to the independent travellers, this season, to build a track record. This tour can be offered via hotel concierges, Klahowya Village, Visitor Centres and your other industry partners. To reach the cruise lines I suggest building partnerships with Tourism Vancouver and Aboriginal Tourism BC, as well as working with Tour Operators and Receptive Tour Operators.

Since the cruise sales cycle can take up to 18 months (from the time a cruise line expresses interest in a new product to having a new shore excursion included as part of their menu of products offered) it is essential that you don’t rely exclusively on cruise passenger volumes to make the business venture profitable. Consider the cruise industry as a market extension.

It is also important to recognize that in a mature cruise market such as Vancouver cruise lines tend to work with established tourism partners who they have established relations. Working with others tourism partners in your local community is frequently a more cost effective way of serving the needs of the cruise markets before trying to go directly to the individual cruise lines.

 Q: Can you give me some advice on pricing?

A: Your net rate should be your actual costs plus a profit margin. You can give the net rate to the cruise lines. Keep in mind that the net rate you are giving to a cruise line or a tour packaging partner needs to be 30% or 40% less than the retail rate.

Q: Do you have any final suggestions?

A: Before you start designing your tour, make sure that you have done your research. This site provides opportunities and a comprehensive tool kit to get you started. It is important to know what the cruise lines are looking for and what is being offered in other ports-of-call on a cruise itinerary involving Vancouver. Sometime it makes sense to partner up with another tourism supplier. Thinking out of the box on how to make your tour different is key. For example, you might also want to consider including a visit to the Vancouver Aquarium after the tour. This would associate your company with one of the leading attractions in Vancouver.

 

Overview of the Cruise Ship Industry in Canada.

Talaysay Tours – Talking Tree Tour


  • Nom de l'entreprise: Talaysay Tours
  • Nom du propriétaire: Candace Campo
  • Site Web: www.talaysay.com
  • # de personnes employées: 12 sous contrat
  • Types d'expérience offertes Randonnée, marche, kayak, raquette
  • # d'années en affaires: 12
  • Marchés cibles: Colombie-Britannique, Alberta, Ontario, certains de l'Europe

Située à Vancouver sur la Sunshine Coast, cette entreprise autochtone bien établie offre des randonnées écologiques.  L’entreprise envisage de collaborer avec les lignes de croisière qui visiteront Vancouver en 2015 afin de fournir une expérience touristique pour les croisiéristes.

Talaysay Tours propose des randonnées et visites guidées pédestres selon une perspective propre aux Premières Nations et le fait avec succès depuis plus de 12 ans. Les circuits incluent l’exploration des montagnes de la Rive-Nord de Vancouver avec des guides autochtones qui partagent leur connaissance unique sur l’importance culturelle et la beauté naturelle de cette région. 

Dans le but d’élargir ses marchés cibles actuels, Talaysay Tours souhaite collaborer avec le marché des croisières de Vancouver en proposant une visite à pied – Talking Tree walking tour – au parc Stanley. L’entreprise a discuté cette option avec un spécialiste de croisière pour prendre connaissance des facteurs à considérer afin de collaborer avec les lignes de croisière et des ajustements à apporter au produit actuel.

Questions et réponses entre  Candace Campo (Talaysay Tours) et Darryl Anderson (Wave Point Consulting Ltd.)

Q: Que dois-je prendre en considération afin d’adapter mon produit actuel –  Talking Tree Walking Tour – au marché des croisières?

R: Je sais que vos expériences sont prêtes à exporter mais elles doivent aussi répondre aux besoins du marché. Plusieurs éléments doivent être pris en considération quant au développement de votre Talking Tree walking tour pour le marché des croisières. En voici quelques points importants :

Je trouve que cette visite a du potentiel auprès des croisiéristes de plusieurs générations – des familles ou des petits groupes voyageant ensemble et qui cherchent à vivre une expérience éducative à Vancouver avant ou après leur croisière. Lorsque vous concevez le récit et les activités de la visite, veuillez tenir en compte votre cible principal du marché des croisières (tranche d’âge – par exemple :7 à 70 ans). L’ajout d’une activité pratique rendra la visite plus attrayante, spéciale et mémorable qu’une visite auto-guidée à pied.

Une visite à pied à partir du terminal de croisières peut éliminer le besoin de s’associer à une compagnie de transport. Planifiez une marche jusqu’au parc Stanley avec un récit engageant et intéressant incluant des contes et en mettant l’emphase sur les sites importants en route. Accordez la même importance à cette marche que les activités qui auront lieu au parc. Créez un moment photographique clé pendant la marche jusqu’au parc – un moment que les visiteurs pourront partager entre eux et sur les médias sociaux.

 Même si la visite à pied attirera une clientèle précise, vous pouvez la rendre accessible aux fauteuils roulants motorisés pour étendre cette démographique et avoir une plus grande part du marché. Il faut prendre en compte ce point quand vous choisissez le trajet aller-retour du terminal de croisières.

Q: Quelle devrait être la durée de la visite?

R: Les croisiéristes ont peu de temps. Ils vont faire cette visite avant ou tout juste après une croisière. Par conséquent, je dirais un total d’environ 2 heures. Cela signifierait une demi-heure pour se rendre au parc Stanley, une heure au parc et une demi-heure pour le retour. Il vous faudra planifier des arrêts aux toilettes et une pause à mi-parcours.

Q: Quels aménagements dois-je inclure dans la visite?

R: Bonne question. Comme nous le savons tous, il arrive que Vancouver connaisse des pointes d’humidité. Donc, vous devrez fournir des accessoires pour se protéger de la pluie, notamment des manteaux de pluie et des parapluies. De l’eau potable en bouteille serait une bonne idée également. Ajoutez aussi quelque chose que les visiteurs pourraient ramener chez eux (par exemple : un morceau de cèdre, écorce de cèdre tressée) en guise de souvenir de leur visite au parc Stanley.

Q: Y a-t-il des exigences logistiques? 

R: En plus des normes, vous devrez adapter l’expérience selon le nombre minimum et maximum de visiteurs. Il va falloir déterminer le nombre de participants requis pour effectuer la visite et comment gérer plusieurs visites pour plusieurs lignes de croisière. Des fois, il pourrait y avoir quatre paquebots au port en même temps.

  

Q: Quel genre d’outils de marketing dois-je produire? 

R: Il est important de fournir une description unique et attirante sur la visite et sur ce que les gens vont apprendre et de présenter de belles images. Tenez en compte le contenu de votre site Web et les médias sociaux car de nombreux croisiéristes font des recherches approfondies sur une destination au moment de faire une réservation pour une croisière. En ce qui concerne la visite elle-même, songez à distribuer des cartes qui tracent le parcours et présentent certains points culminants de la visite.

 

Q: Comment puis-je commercialiser à l’industrie des croisières?

A: R: Les lignes de croisière cherchent des fournisseurs d’excursions terrestres qui ont fait leurs preuves et qui offrent un produit attrayant. Cette saison, vous pouvez peut-être initier les voyageurs indépendants au Talking Tree tour pour acquérir de l’expérience. La visibilité pour cette visite peut être donnée par les concierges d’hôtels, le village de Klahowya, les centres d’accueil et vos autres partenaires de l’industrie.

Pour accéder aux lignes de croisière, je suggère la création de partenariats avec  Tourism Vancouver et Aboriginal Tourism BC ainsi qu’une collaboration avec des voyagistes et des agents de tourisme réceptif.

Étant donné que le cycle de vente des croisières peut prendre jusqu’à 18 mois (du moment qu’une ligne de croisière s’intéresse à un nouveau produit jusqu’à ce qu’une nouvelle excursion terrestre soit incluse dans la liste des activités proposées), il est essentiel que vous ne comptiez pas uniquement sur les volumes de croisiéristes pour rentabiliser cette opération commerciale. Considérez l’industrie des croisières comme une extension du marché.

Il est également important de reconnaître que dans un marché des croisières mature comme Vancouver, les lignes de croisière ont tendance à travailler avec des partenaires touristiques établis avec lesquels ils ont tissé des liens. Collaborer avec les partenaires touristiques dans votre communauté locale est souvent un moyen plus rentable de satisfaire les besoins des marchés des croisières avant d’essayer d’accéder directement aux lignes de croisière individuelles.

Q: Pouvez-vous me donner quelques conseils sur les prix?

R: Votre tarif net doit inclure vos coûts réels et une marge de profit. Vous pouvez fournir le tarif net aux lignes de croisière. N’oubliez pas que le tarif net que vous allez fournir à une ligne de croisière ou un partenaire offrant des forfaits de voyage doit être 30% ou 40% inférieur au prix de détail.

Q: Avez-vous des propositions finales?

R: Avant d’entamer la conception de votre visite, vous devez avoir fait vos recherches. Ce site contient les possibilités et une palette d’outils pour vous aider à démarrer. Il est important de savoir ce que les lignes de croisière recherchent et les produits qui sont offerts dans d’autres ports d’escale sur un itinéraire impliquant Vancouver. Des fois, il convient de créer un partenariat avec un autre fournisseur en tourisme.  Il est important d’être créatif pour rendre votre visite différente. Par exemple, vous pourriez envisager d’inclure une visite à l’Aquarium de Vancouver après la visite. Vous allez ainsi vous associer à un des principaux attraits de Vancouver.

 

Vue d’ensemble de l’industrie des croisières au Canada.