Uashat mak Mani-Utenam - Sept-Îles


  • Business Name: Innu Camp Telina
  • Owner Name: Veronique Andre and Albert Vollant
  • Website: www.destinationsept-iles.com
  • # Of Staff Employed: We employ 2 part-time in the community, 2 full-time around 20 people during cruise line stopover days.
  • Types Of Experiences Offered: We develop the Innu cultural experience, a major appeal of the Port of call of Sept-Îles.
  • # Of Years In Business: 5
  • Target Markets: International cruise lines

How long have you been working with the cruise industry?

Our partnership was formed in 2010, and consists of the Port of Sept-Îles, various economic and tourism stakeholders in that city, and representatives of the Innu community. Our mission is to teach the Innu lifestyle.

What types of experiences are you currently offering to the cruise industry? 

 We offer excursions specifically at providing an insight into the Innu culture as well as the natural, cultural and economic aspects of Sept-Îles. The Ultimate Innu Experience, our main activity, allows cruise passengers to discover different aspects of the Innu culture, such as hunting, traditional fishing, crafts, traditional medicine, Innu gastronomy, spirituality and more. Five tents have been installed on site in which each theme is discussed for around ten minutes. The site can accommodate up to 480 cruise passengers during an 8-hour stopover.

 

How many cruise ship passengers are you servicing on an annual basis?

In 2013, nearly 600 passengers chose the Ultimate Innu Experience package. This number exceeded 1000 the following year. Since we’ve been offering this package, the number of visitors has been growing year after year.

What is the percentage of your overall bookings / revenue you get from the cruise industry?

Nearly 80 %  is derived from the cruise industry, which has seen a significant increase in its number of visitors.

What strategies did you apply to start working with the cruise industry?

The business partnership between the Sept-Iles Port of call and the Innu site was established gradually. This partnership is important to developing the Innu community’s tourism industry by integrating activities pertaining to our culture in the package offered to cruise passengers.

How do you keep in touch with the cruise lines coming to your region?

The Innu community is directly involved in familiarization tours. We liaise with the cruise lines, be it for marketing or follow-ups. However, there is an increasing need for the presence of Innu representatives in administrative boards, advisory committees and meetings with cruise line representatives.

What are your challenges in working with the cruise industry?

The biggest challenges are often linked to their specific requirements. The product has to be marketable and meet certain needs. Experience providers need to have a good understanding of these expectations and undergo adequate training. We must constantly adapt to the needs of the cruise industry, be versatile, and target groups whose recurrence rate is very low, say 4 to 8 cruise-days per year. For now, it is difficult to create seasonal tour companies only for cruise passengers and we have to combine this business with other activities to be able to sustain full-time seasonal jobs.

What are your wins in working with the cruise industry?

The cruise industry has provided opportunities for our enterprise to develop the tourism experiences which not only target the cruise passengers but can also cater to locals and touring visitors.

What’s been your biggest lesson in working with the cruise industry?

It requires great adaptability and discipline on several levels. Meeting and greeting groups is always subject to the strict schedule of the cruise lines. Careful planning is needed to further develop this aspect of hospitality. Preparations associated with a one-day stopover require the same energy as holding a major event

Any tips for others?

The best advice we can give is to sell only one product that they are 100% confident they will be able to deliver on time… The development of a shore excursion for the cruise industry requires a stable level of quality in all the proposed activities.

Any final words of wisdom?

The fact that both the Innu and non-Indigenous communities of Sept-Îles are working together on this project has greatly contributed to creating a harmonious and trust-based relationship between the two groups.

Overview of the Cruise Ship Industry in Canada.

Uashat mak Mani-Utenam - Sept-Îles


  • Nom de l'entreprise: Site traditionnel innu Telina
  • Nom du propriétaire: Véronique André and Albert Vollant
  • Site Web: www.destinationsept-iles.com
  • # de personnes employées: 2 personnes de la communauté à temps partiel, 2 personnes à temps plein chez Destination Sept-Îles Nakauinanu (DSIN) et environ 20 personnes pendant les jours d'escale des croisières.
  • Types d'expérience offertes Nous développons l'expérience culturelle innue, un attrait majeur du Port de Sept-Îles.
  • # d'années en affaires: 5
  • Marchés cibles: Les lignes de croisière internationales

Depuis combien de temps collaborez-vous avec l’industrie des croisières?

Notre partenariat date de 2010 et inclut le Port de Sept-Îles, divers intervenants économiques et touristiques de cette ville et des représentants de la communauté innue. Notre mission consiste à enseigner et à mieux faire connaître le mode de vie des Innus.

Quels types d’expérience offrez-vous actuellement à l’industrie des croisières?

Nous offrons des excursions terrestres dans le but spécifique de donner un aperçu de la culture innue et des aspects naturels, culturels et économiques de Sept-Îles. « L’ultime expérience innue », notre principale activité permet aux croisiéristes de découvrir les différents éléments de la culture innue : la chasse, la pêche traditionnelle, l’artisanat, la médecine traditionnelle, la cuisine innue, la spiritualité et autres. Cinq tentes innues ont été montées sur le site pour des discussions thématiques de dix minutes chaque. Le site peut accueillir jusqu’à 480 croisiéristes lors d’une escale de 8 heures.

Combien de croisiéristes accueillez-vous par année?

En 2013, près de 600 croisiéristes ont opté pour le forfait « L’ultime expérience innue » alors qu’en 2014, le chiffre a dépassé 1000. Le nombre ne cesse d’augmenter d’année en année depuis que nous offrons cette activité.

Quel pourcentage de vos réservations totales ou de votre revenu global provient de l’industrie des croisières?

Près de 80 %  proviennent de l’industrie des croisières, dont le nombre de croisiéristes a connu une hausse significative.

Quelles stratégies avez-vous adoptées pour entamer une collaboration avec l’industrie des croisières?

Le partenariat d’affaires entre le Port d’escale de Sept-Îles et le site innu a été mis en place progressivement. Ce partenariat permet l’intégration des activités liées à notre culture dans le forfait offert aux croisiéristes favorisant ainsi le développement de l’industrie du tourisme de la communauté innue.

Comment gardez-vous contact avec les lignes de croisière visitant votre région?

La communauté innue est directement impliquée dans les visites de familiarisation. Nous collaborons avec les lignes de croisière, que ce soit pour la commercialisation ou les suivis. Cependant, il y a un besoin grandissant de la présence représentative des Innus au sein des conseils administratifs, des comités consultatifs et des réunions avec les représentants des lignes de croisière.

Quels sont les défis d’une collaboration avec l’industrie des croisières?

Les plus grands défis sont souvent liés à leurs besoins spécifiques. Le produit doit être commercialisable et doit répondre à certains besoins. Les fournisseurs d’expérience doivent bien comprendre ces attentes et suivre une formation adéquate. Nous devons constamment nous adapter aux besoins de l’industrie des croisières. Nous devons également être polyvalents et cibler les groupes dont le taux de récurrence est très faible, soit 4-8 jours de croisière par an. Pour l’instant, il est difficile de créer des entreprises touristiques saisonnières uniquement pour les croisiéristes et nous devons combiner cette activité commerciale avec d’autres activités pour pouvoir conserver des emplois saisonniers à plein temps.

Qu’est-ce que la collaboration avec l’industrie des croisières vous a rapporté comme gains?

L’industrie des croisières a permis à notre entreprise de développer des expériences touristiques ciblant non seulement les croisiéristes mais aussi la clientèle locale et les visiteurs de passage.

Quelle est la plus grande leçon à retenir d’une collaboration avec l’industrie des croisières?

Il faut une grande adaptabilité et de la discipline à plusieurs niveaux. La rencontre et l’accueil des groupes dépendent tout le temps sur l’horaire précis des lignes de croisière. Une planification minutieuse est requise pour développer davantage cet aspect de l’hospitalité. Les préparatifs liés à une escale d’une journée exigent les mêmes efforts que la tenue d’un événement majeur.

Des conseils pour les autres?

Le meilleur conseil qu’on peut donner aux autres c’est de vendre un seul produit qu’ils sont sûrs à 100% de pouvoir livrer à temps. Le développement d’une excursion terrestre pour l’industrie des croisières nécessite un niveau stable en matière de qualité pour toutes les activités proposées.

Quelques dernières paroles de sagesse?

Le fait que les Innus et les communautés non-autochtones de Sept-Îles travaillent ensemble sur ce projet a grandement contribué à consolider une relation harmonieuse fondée sur la confiance entre ces deux groupes.

Vue d’ensemble de l’industrie des croisières au Canada.